top of page

2022 Film Festival

Click on image to open the brochure.

The first physical Short Com Awards Ceremony took place on the 13th Nov. at Peckhamplex Cinema hosted by comedian Archie Henderson (Jazz Emu). Seven awards were up for grabs from a selection of 50 short films from around the globe, including the 5 Short Com TV Sitcom Writing Competition Finalists sponsored by Festival Formula and Greenlit.


The stop motion coming of age Night of The Living Dread swept the board, taking Best Animation, Best British Film, Best Script and the top award the Grand Jury Prize. Directed by Ida Melum and written by Hannah Kelso and Laura Jayne Tunbridge. The film is already taking the circuit by storm being BIFA nominated and up for the longest for the Academy Awards. Hannah Kelso was gifted the awards upon the Animation screening at GMAC the following day.


Best Performance went to James Martin for his incredible performance as the stubborn and devious Lorcan in An Irish Goodbye. A heartwarming story of of two brothers who must prepare for life after the loss of their mother and bond by fulfilling her bucket list.


Funniest Film went to the slightly insane and remarkable The Diamond. An instant favourite with it’s own unique style and authorship about a man desperate to make friends by trying to prize a hidden diamond in the hope to make himself rich.


 Finally the winner of the TV Sitcom Writing Competition went to Coworking by Joseph Reaney. The workplace sitcom about the mismanagement of a cowering office was the highest points scorer by the judges praised for it’s tight writing and immediate appeal. 



Grand Jury Prize


The Diamond - Dir. Vedran Rupict

Le Saboteur - Dir. Anssi Kasitonni

Unicorn - Dir. Matt Porter

An Irish Goodbye - Tom Berkely and Ross White

Night Of The Living Dread - Ida Melum

Hardboiled - Peter Sluszka


Best Performance


Emmanuel DDM Moss - F^¢K '€M R!GHT B@¢K

Erik Sjöström - The Diamond

James Martin - An Irish Goodbye

Simon Pond - Cruise

Rebekka Johnson - Wild Bitch

Kate Nash - Wild Bitch

Eleanor Morton - Deloping

Lola Rose Maxwell - Deloping

Maddie Rice - Lady Brently's End

Kirsty Mann - Lady Brently's End


Judging this category was former Short Com alumni actor and writer Mark Davison


Funniest Film 



The Diamond

The Cruise

Past Life

Blue Smoke

F^¢K '€M R!GHT B@¢K

Sweat of His Cow


Le Saboteur

Lily's Mirror

The Coupon


Judging this category was last year's winner Kevin Ralston

Best Script 


The Diamond - Vedrad Rupict and Gustav Sundstrom

An Irish Goodbye - Tom Berkely and Ross White

Night Of The Living Dread - Hannah Kelso and Laura Jayne Tunbridge

Unicorn - Charles Gould and Matt Porter

Troy - Jen Silverman

Blue Smoke - Matthew Harris


Judging the category was Short Com Festival director Chris Aitken


TV Sitcom Writing Competition


Coworking - Joseph Reaney

Joy - Caroline Maybe

The Dingles - Henry Perriment

Personal Space - Liam Hale

Killing It - David Litchfield


The scripts were judged by BAFTA nominated director Ben Mallaby; PBJ literary agent Henry Holmes and Rough Cut TV producer Inez Gordon. The finalists will have their scripts included in the SHORT LIST and put forward to agents and production companies.


bottom of page